CWYAlpha

Just another WordPress.com site

Thought this was cool: What is the best advice your father ever gave you?

leave a comment »


“Your thoughts are limited by your vocabulary.”, my father told me when I was a teenager.

That one line set me on a path of reading, to build my vocabulary, fall in love with dictionaries, enjoy words and word-play, to write well, to speak well. This expanded the horizons of my comprehension, and also gave me the ability to applaud the refined, subtle thoughts that only a master craftsman with words can bring to paper. There is a richness to the commentary of human experience that I would have missed had I not enjoyed reading and writing as much as I do.

This path has been central to how, for better or for worse, my personality has evolved in the last 20 years since that afternoon.

—Related answer–
Nishant Pandey’s answer to Cognitive Neuroscience: Why don’t animals other than humans have goals as lofty and varied as building a pyramid, recording knowledge, and going to the moon?

.

Read other answers by

Nishant Pandey on Quora:

Read more answers on Quora.
from Quora: http://www.quora.com/What-is-the-best-advice-your-father-ever-gave-you/answer/Nishant-Pandey-2

Written by cwyalpha

十二月 22, 2012 在 4:44 下午

发表在 Uncategorized

发表评论

